

# Accreditation Council Minutes February 3, 2020, 3-4p.m. Building E-112

#### **MEMBERS**

Name	Representing	Present	Absent
Dr. Cathryn Wilkinson	Administration	X	
David Beymer	Full-Time Faculty	X	
Michael Hooper	Full-Time Faculty	X	
Lisa Storm	Academic Senate/Full-Time	X	
	Faculty		
Dr. Brian Lofman	Administration	X	
Dr. Patricia Hsieh	Administration		X
Dr. Romero Jalomo	Administration	X	
Linda Wilczewski	Administration	X	
Alma Arriaga	Confidential		Х
Vacant	CSEA		
Vacant	CSEA		
Vacant	L-39		
Tanya Ho	Full-Time Faculty		X
Dr. Ann Wright	Full-Time Faculty	X	
Vacant	Full-Time Faculty		
Vacant	Part-Time Faculty		·
Fabian Rodrigueaz	Associated Student		X
Vacant	Associated Students		

## **CALL TO ORDER & INTRODUCTIONS**

Cathryn Wilkinson/ David Beymer

Meeting called to order at 3:05 pm.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

- 1. Consider Approval of Minutes of September 16, 2019 David Beymer MOTIONED (Storm), Seconded (Wright), majority approved, Wilkinson & Wilczewski abstained.
- 2. Consider Approval of Minutes of November 18, 2019 David Beymer **MOTIONED** (Wright), Seconded (Storm), majority approved, Wilkinson & Wilczewski abstained.

# INFORMATION/DISCUSSION/PRESENTATIONS

1. Formation of teams to start data collection

For the QFEs and Recommendations

ΑII

Mr. Beymer explained that Dr. Hsieh suggested we form teams from committees already in existence. Decision was made to assign the following committees/task forces:

a) QFE #1 – Guided Pathways (GP)

Brian recommended the GP Steering Committee

Faculty co-chair: Hetty Yelland Administrator co-chair: Brian Lofman

Staff co-chair: Marina Reyes

b) QFE #2 – Student Transfer

Student Transfer to 4-Year Institutions Task Force

Faculty co-chair: Mercedes Del Real

Administrator co-chair: Cathryn Wilkinson

Staff co-chair: Jessie Betancourt

c) QFE #3 – Career Placement

Student Career Placement Task Force

Faculty co-chair: Liz Cabiles

Administrator co-chair: Sharon Albert

Staff co-chair Belen Gonzales

#### Recommendations:

 Library: Student Equity Steering Committee (SEAP) – Romero will lead and hand off to Dr. Sachiko Matsunaga, soon to be dean of academic affairs, languages, learning support & resources

Faculty co-chair: Cynthia Ainsworth

Administrator co-chair: Romero Jalomo/Sachiko Matsunaga

Staff co-chair: Frank Henderson

Technology Master Plan: Technology Development Council

Faculty co-chair: Deborah Stephens Administrator co-chair: Dave Philips

Staff co-chair: Laura Otero

## **ACTION**

Dr. Wilkinson and Mr. Beymer will send a joint email to the co-chairs appointed.

2. Data Collection repository in Google

Tabled for next meeting

David Beymer

3. Term length for Accreditation Council members David Beymer Members discussed the current wording in the handbook. Dr. Wright suggested a term date would be helpful to bring in "new blood" to the council. Ms. Storm and Mr. Hooper agreed.

Dr. Lofman suggested that for the mid-term report, we could have the term of council membership be three years. Dr. Wright recommended that we send new members to ACCJC trainings, as well as requesting that they participate in site visits. Dr. Wilkinson and Mr. Beymer inquired if members were in favor of the proposed new term length being brought forward to Academic Senate.

## **ACTION**

Ms. Storm will bring our recommendation for a three and a half year term length (seven semesters) for new members to the next Academic Senate meeting next Tuesday, February 11, 2020. Dr. Wright will bring as an information item. (The new appointees would only serve a two and half year term to align with where we are in the cycle.)

# OTHER ITEMS/BRIEF ANNOUNCEMENTS

- New Accreditation Basics Course (On-line)
   New members must complete the course and email their certificate of completion to Dina at dhayashi@hartnell.edu.
- 2. New ACCJC president Dr. Stephanie Droker effective February 8, 2020
- 3. Memo regarding ACCJC officers announced January 27, 2020
- 4. <u>ACCJC Policy comment invitation to the field</u>
  Deadline to send comments is February 14, 2020. Council members can email Dina if they have feedback.

## **NEXT MEETING(S)**

- March 9, 2020
- April 20, 2020
- May 18, 2020

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Cathryn Wilkinson/ David Beymer

**MOTIONED** (Lofman), Seconded (Wilczewski), unanimously approved. Meeting adjourned at 4:12 p.m.